That Google can access our location at any time is a concern of many users who want to protect their privacy. Here we tell you what you can do to fix it.
Keeping Google’s geolocation service enabled offers an attractive advantage. Much of their success (and in part, making it so hard to let go of them) is nothing more than that location in real time. Thanks to that, a recommendation will appear for a shop, cafe or restaurant, the fastest route from home to the office and vice versa. It even flows traffic on your city’s main roads at certain times of the day.
But it all comes at a price: our data, and there is a legitimate threat to our privacy. That’s why many users decide to turn geolocation off. If you are in that group of users then keep reading because what we are about to tell you will interest you.
You Can Stop Google from Following You
To disable geolocation on your Android terminal, you need to go to Route settings> Google> Manage your Google account> Data and personalization:
In this tab, we will see the Control section of your account activity. In here we have to disable the Web and app activity options, as well as Location History:
To do this, you will need to go to both sections and click on the sliders that will appear on the screen. Disabling this control is necessary, because in this way we ensure that neither the Google apps nor the websites we visit using Chrome can access our geolocation data.
As a final recommendation, it’s also interesting that you turn off the location of the photos you take with your phone’s camera. To do this, open the camera application and click on the menu button which you will find in the upper left corner of the screen. Once there, under the General section, make sure that the Save location option is disabled. As can be seen below:
Needless to say, if the option isn’t disabled, you’ll need to disable it yourself.
Once you’ve completed these simple steps, you’ll get Big G to stop caring about your location.
How To Top Apps from Using Your Location
What we just described works so that, broadly speaking, Google stops tracking us using its services. But, what happens if non-Google apps don’t have access to our terminal’s GPS? The process, then, is a little more complicated.
To manage these permissions, you need to go to Route settings> Apps and notifications. Then enter the one you know is using your GPS and then click on Permissions. Check if you are allowed access to your location:
If so (as in this example), click the permission and then Deny:
This way, you ensure that no applications you may have installed access your location. What is the problem? You have to do them one by one, there is no way to do this batch processing.